Are devs overcomplicating the saber system?

Are devs overcomplicating the saber system?

• Yes

• No

Results are only viewable after voting.
I find it quite odd that before, there was only simple things about dueling and now I find that there's all this new stuff added into the game which to me is just making everything so overly complicated now. I liked it before when things were simple, Pblocking saves BP, AP was balanced, saber swings had decent speeds, etc.

I mean 1.3's saber system would've been fine where it was with just some minor adjustments to the stats, an entire re-do of the system wasn't really necessary in my opinion but what do I know, I'm not a coder. I just like to duel. :D

Lessen

pew pew
Movie Battles II Team
"Saber swings had such-and-so speed" is not an appeal to simplicity vs complexity, it's just a preference for a particular speed. Slowing things down a bit makes it less flaily/guessy. Which is a matter of preference.

Some things they've done have made the system less complicated/arcane, namely removing swing chain direction limitations. A lot of the mechanics they've added are meant to address ways that the current system can be "exploited" in some sense. They're meant to add depth. I don't mind it all as long as at the end it all ends up well documented and ready to be learned.

I think the system wouldn't need to be as complicated if we somehow had even more precise control over our swords and movements, and a more advanced physics engine and whatever, but since the engine has the limits that it does, mechanics and strategic elements that would be organic in real life instead have to be directly coded in.

"Saber swings had such-and-so speed" is not an appeal to simplicity vs complexity, it's just a preference for a particular speed. Slowing things down a bit makes it less flaily/guessy. Which is a matter of preference.