Question about Metas, also, Hi.

Since the launcher is downloading for the first time in the background, I thought I'd ask a question or two. How's customization? Are you locked into whatever classes or lightsabers are already chosen, or do you get to decide?

On that note, can anybody recommend to me a class? I've seen the list with all the classes and their difficulty, but I'm not sure how much those matter. Assuming that I've played games for over a decade and have ten functioning fingers, who's the best option for a newbie?

Is there a reason to go with footsoldiers over the Laser-sword-using space warriors?
Well there's plenty of reasons. For example you will get more kills and you won't be a hindrance to your teammates. Also you will be spending less time in spectator mode if you pick a respawner class because new jedi/sith get pwned quickly.

As said, soldier, clone are good for a start. I would also add commander/elite trooper. When I was a beginner, I found commander and clone to be better than soldier, because they are more durable. Yes, you get 1 more life with soldier, but in a firefight anything can 1 shot kill you and thus you often just die without getting a "real" fight. Once you get a grasp of the game and you don't run in shots unnecessarily, then soldier becomes better than commander/ET, but that's only my opinion.

But don't take too much time playing soldier if you don't enjoy it and pick jedi/sith, the most important thing is to relax and enjoy the game. However if you just go in with jedi/sith without much knowledge and just keep dieing, you also won't be enjoying the game probably.

The best thing to do is learn to shoot. After that, just pick a gunner class and stick with it. Or you can just play a duel server for a hour or two and learn the basics of sabers, then just do it the hard way and die until you learn not to.