Votes: 8 40.0%
  • No

Votes: 6 30.0%
  • No, I'm a humorless MLG pro and hate seeing fun

Votes: 3 15.0%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hug allowed for people to freeze their upper body on the last frame of an animation that at worst provided an easy instant kata grab and at best provided a way to show people that the hugger was unaggressive or was initiating melee combat or it was simply a diversion for players not actively in combat. It was a harmless feature that was removed to "polish" the game (built on a relatively ancient engine), though many hug-like features remain in the game like freezing your upper body after rolling with a primed grenade or the instant over-the-shoulder melee kata.

So as far as I can tell all that removing hug was make the game a little less unique and just a little more boring. Were there any behind-the-scene code benefits to removing hug? What other reasons are there for not letting us have our hugs back?

#mb2Hug2016

Preston

Nerd
^ and also it made melee alot better. You could freeze your position after doing an uppercut and do constant 1hp damage or so. This is needed back

Preston

Nerd
For real tho. Torso freeze coming back is long over due, it was so much fun and innocent. I miss giving hugs to people :(

StarWarsGeek

Internal Beta Team
provided an easy instant kata grab and at best provided a way to show people that the hugger was unaggressive or was initiating melee combat or it was simply a diversion for players not actively in combat.
Those both sound like good reasons for it to stay gone, at least from open mode. Open mode shouldn't be the place to players be "unaggressive". A feature that encourages people to be useless at best and get in their team's way at worst is pretty bad.

IIRC, the primary reason behind it's removal was to stop easy instant katas.