•     Please make sure you check the Support FAQ and relevant Guides before you create a new thread in this section!

[SOLVED] why is my FPS so awful?

2 GTX 980s SLI 4GB
i7 4820k
16GB RAM

so ever since I started playing this I noticed the FPS was pretty terrible at times but ignored it, but now the more maps I play, some maps are just unplayable with how poorly they run, and I don't understand why. I know the game wasn't optimized to play well on newer cards, but I've heard people with similar hardware say they get perfect FPS with everything maxed. I've tried tons of stuff to fix it but none of it seems to help (com_affinity 1, setting max fps to 125, trying at lowest settings possible, turning off SLI, changing engine, etc). any ideas?

and for what it's worth, I notice it most when turning in maps. seems like that when the lag is at its worst, can drop to like 10 FPS.

Try changing the network settings to this:
1: Hop into ingame settings, and tweaks the network values!

Datarate should be... at least 25k.
Max packets about... 30 or 40
My BackupPacket is at... 1
TimeNudge i'm not sure, mine is set to... none
Snaps... 40
Lagometer... on.
This was posted by Lyrion a couple threads down about ping issues. Might be that your internet settings are not set correctly. I had this problem and this setup fixed all my lag/fps issues.

I'm just playing the default MBII with the network settings Lyrion posted and I have no issues. Have you tried the game with default settings with the internet options only? Or does it still get low fps?

MaceMadunusus

Level Designer
Donator
Movie Battles II Team
Yeah you're right that the game isn't optimized for newer cards. I use max 12% of my GPU and like 6% of my CPU. The game is mostly CPU bound though but your 4820k is plenty.