Delaying/Repeating scripts

Discussion in 'Modding Support' started by MasterNoah, Oct 9, 2017.

1. MasterNoah

MasterNoah

Obviously I'm a novice and could use some help. I'm trying to make a string that makes use of a delay between lines of code, but I'm unfamiliar with this programming language.

How can I delay the time it takes to run the next line of code?

Is there a way I can make it loop a specific group of lines or should I stick with putting "exec <putnamehere>" to repeat the whole string?

2. eezstreet

eezstreet Movie Battles II Team Retired

Are you talking about for scripts? There's a "wait" command which you can use thusly:
    "exec <something>; wait 5; ..."

3. MasterNoah

MasterNoah

(Sorry for late response) Yes. I feel really stupid for mixing up scripts with strings. -_-
    That would work, thanks.

eezstreet likes this.
  4. MasterNoah

MasterNoah

I'm probably doing something wrong, but when I test the script I can't do anything until it has run through everything (which doesn't work so well on a loop.)

EDIT**
    Added more detail.

Last edited: Oct 9, 2017
  5. Puppytine

Puppytine Slayed dreamer

This is by design.
    "Wait" command freezes any user input until it's over.

AFAIK, these is no publicly available command to execute some command in X milliseconds after previous command without blocking keyboard/mouse events.
    I only heard that @Helix kinda found some way to partially implement desired behavior ("Rainbow script"), though I also heard it has some issue with input as well.

6. MasterNoah

MasterNoah

I see. Thanks for the help guys.

7. Helix

Helix Script crusader & army evader. Movie Battles II Team Retired

Hello. "wait" command is restricted server-side in MBII. (there's a way to bypass it tho :p)
    In any way, wait is lame because it restricts input